Writing Portfolio

This first piece is the executive summary from the trend analysis assignment.  I was proud of how that assignment turned out.  The summary itself was written very quickly to replace a previous summary that did not truly reflect the content of the report.  This piece reflects my ability to read something and succinctly summarize its’ contents under pressure.

 

This report is the analysis of the trend towards B corporation certification.  B Lab, the non-profit organization leading this movement sets high standards of social and environmental standards, to unite progressively minded organizations.  B corporations have seen study growth on a global scale since their initial inception in 2007.  Their popularity has come from a desire to move beyond the bottom line as the sole purpose of business and become more inclusive of all stakeholders.  The effect of this movement has been positive and is contributing to its continued expansion.  The reader is encouraged to look beyond this analysis by exploring the many recommended resources.  This report strives to present the impressive growth of this business model and emphasizes the importance of preparing yourself for a business environment that values true social change.

 

Second, I have decided to include my response to a discussion post regarding discourse communities.  In this instance, I am responding to the post of a peer with whom I share the discourse community of accounting students at Fleming College.  I chose this post because it showcases my ability to absorb the writing of another and provide feedback that could assist them in building on their content.  I reinforce my point by citing specific examples.

 

Andrea, you did a great job introducing our discourse community.  You captured our goals, demographics, mechanisms of communication, and accounting specific jargon very well.  You have certainly made it clear that accountants share vocabulary that make it difficult for the outside world to understand what we are talking about.  However, much of the terminology you introduced could be applied to any accounting program.  Can you think of anything more specific to our class?  My first thoughts are some of Dale’s rules.  For example, Dale’s rule of inventory, “if we don’t have it, we must have sold it.” My point is that our norms for classroom communication in the accounting program vary due, in large part, to our unique experience with our instructors.  They have shaped the way we talk about accounting in ways that make our discourse community at Fleming different from others and I think that is something worth exploring.

 

Third, I present you with a blog post.  This post highlights my ability to be reflective in my writing.  I am particularly proud of this post because it summarizes my experience entering school as a mature student and reflects on the time I have spent at Fleming.  It also sets up my remaining blogs by acting as an introduction to a series posts that examine the experience of an accounting student entering the current job market.

 

After an extended hiatus, my blog contributions have returned with a new focus.  Rather than discussing my current employment, I’ve decided it would be more productive and worthwhile to write about where I’m headed professionally.  This is the first in a series of blog posts in which I will talk about my experience as I transition from one job to another.  Today, we began with a look at my return to school.

The accounting program at Fleming College is not my first post-secondary education experience.  I’ve been a student at Trent University off and on (mostly off) for years.  At times, when I realized I was going to drop out again or when I questioned where a degree would take me, I would often browse the programs offered at Fleming to see if anything jumped out at me.  I would usually investigate a few things and then decide that pursuing something completely different was a bad idea.  This was because it appeared as though it would be too much of a time commitment or too much of a departure from what I was already studying (French and history).

Late in the fall of 2015, I was browsing the Fleming course calendar once again and I noticed the accounting program for the first time.  I found the course content to be interesting and decided to investigate the job prospects that would be available if I were to enrol.  I was encouraged by the availability of employment for people with accounting backgrounds, but even more pleased with the variety of employment available.  The idea of being able to chart multiple career paths made this field even more appealing and so I decided to apply.

By the time I applied it was already December and the program started in January, so I was a little nervous that the application might not be processed in time.  I felt particularly bad for whomever had to go into storage to find the paper copy of my high school transcript from 2002.  Somehow everything came together and after spending the holidays thinking it over, I decided to accept Fleming’s offer into the accounting program.

Although I did do some research before enrolling, signing up for Fleming did feel like an impulsive decision at the time.  I’m single, own a house, and had just bought a new car.  So, I have financial obligations and no one to fall back on.  I was going to have to continue to work full-time which I knew would be challenging on top of a full-time academic schedule.   I was also concerned with the fact that I am a mature student.  I asked myself how I would connect with what I assumed would be much younger students.  On top of all this, I had a long history of dropping out of school and was worried that I would end up leaving, as I had done so many times before.

My concerns were overcome early in the program.  On the first day, I quickly realized that there was a great range of ages among my peers and I didn’t stick out as I feared I would.  I was able to juggle my work and school schedules and was even doing well in terms of grades.  By the end of the semester, I hadn’t missed a class and had an average of 97%.  Evidently my behaviour had changed and I was feeling very confident that I would be seeing this program through to the end.  This made me more optimistic about the future.  I became more curious about where I was going to end up professionally and how best to get there.

The following blog entries will look at what I’ve found out what I will do once I leave Fleming, trends in the accounting field, and an experience I had taking part in an accounting case competition.

 

Leave a Reply

