Still a lot to learn

This semester, I was fortunate enough to be able to represent Fleming at the 2016 Ontario College Accounting Case Competition.  The competition took place at Humber College’s downtown campus on Saturday, March 25th.  Twenty-two teams of three students from thirteen Ontario colleges took part in the day long event.  The way it works is teams are place in room with a case that presents a scenario with a dilemma that requires a solution.  Teams are given two hours to examine the case, determine a course of action, and create a presentation for a panel of judges.

The competition allows participants to pool their knowledge in determining not just the quantitative aspects of the scenario, but the qualitative aspects of any actions proposed as well.  Working under pressure; creating and giving a presentation; and networking with peers are just some of the advantages of taking part in the competition.  On top of all the experience to be had, transportation, a night in a hotel, and all meals were covered for by Fleming.  It all sounds great, but I had absolutely no interest in going.

The competition required knowledge of subjects that aren’t taught until third year, which put me at a disadvantage. It also required a great deal of preparation and practice, in which I was not interested in investing any time.  Worst of all, I was going to have to take a weekend off work.  I approached this experience with a great deal of negativity and I couldn’t have been more wrong.

I had an amazing day.  I think a lot of the negativity I was experiencing had to do with the anxiety I was feeling about the pressure of performing in an environment in which I was not comfortable.  Once my team had completed our two hours in lockdown with the case and given our presentation we felt amazing.  We were very pleased with how we performed and all agreed that we would take part in future competitions should the opportunity present itself.

Aside from the more obvious intended learning experiences of the competition; I came away with a great deal more.  I learned that I should be open to new experiences.  Something that I thought I already was.  I also learned to better recognize my true reason for feelings of trepidation when in situation where I am not completely comfortable.

I came away from the competition with greater confidence, appreciation for my program coordinator, and an appetite for new experiences.  Including the university version of the competition when I’m at Trent next year.

Leave a Reply

