Reflections of a Mature Student

After an extended hiatus, my blog contributions have returned with a new focus.  Rather than discussing my current employment, I’ve decided it would be more productive and worthwhile to write about where I’m headed professionally.  This is the first in a series of blog posts in which I will talk about my experience as I transition from one job to another.  Today, we began with a look at my return to school.

The accounting program at Fleming College is not my first post-secondary education experience.  I’ve been a student at Trent University off and on (mostly off) for years.  At times, when I realized I was going to drop out again or when I questioned where a degree would take me, I would often browse the programs offered at Fleming to see if anything jumped out at me.  I would usually investigate a few things and then decide that pursuing something completely different was a bad idea.  This was because it appeared as though it would be too much of a time commitment or too much of a departure from what I was already studying (French and history).

Late in the fall of 2015, I was browsing the Fleming course calendar once again and I noticed the accounting program for the first time.  I found the course content to be interesting and decided to investigate the job prospects that would be available if I were to enrol.  I was encouraged by the availability of employment for people with accounting backgrounds, but even more pleased with the variety of employment available.  The idea of being able to chart multiple career paths made this field even more appealing and so I decided to apply.

By the time I applied it was already December and the program started in January, so I was a little nervous that the application might not be processed in time.  I felt particularly bad for whomever had to go into storage to find the paper copy of my high school transcript from 2002.  Somehow everything came together and after spending the holidays thinking it over, I decided to accept Fleming’s offer into the accounting program.

Although I did do some research before enrolling, signing up for Fleming did feel like an impulsive decision at the time.  I’m single, own a house, and had just bought a new car.  So, I have financial obligations and no one to fall back on.  I was going to have to continue to work full-time which I knew would be challenging on top of a full-time academic schedule.   I was also concerned with the fact that I am a mature student.  I asked myself how I would connect with what I assumed would be much younger students.  On top of all this, I had a long history of dropping out of school and was worried that I would end up leaving, as I had done so many times before.

My concerns were overcome early in the program.  On the first day, I quickly realized that there was a great range of ages among my peers and I didn’t stick out as I feared I would.  I was able to juggle my work and school schedules and was even doing well in terms of grades.  By the end of the semester, I hadn’t missed a class and had an average of 97%.  Evidently my behaviour had changed and I was feeling very confident that I would be seeing this program through to the end.  This made me more optimistic about the future.  I became more curious about where I was going to end up professionally and how best to get there.

The following blog entries will look at what I’ve found out what I will do once I leave Fleming, trends in the accounting field, and an experience I had taking part in an accounting case competition.

Leave a Reply

